California DMV’s Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS)
The California DMV’s Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS)
The Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS) is a program created by the DMV to keep so-called “negligent motor vehicle operators” off the roads. NOTS is based on assigning “points” over time to every California license holder for qualifying traffic offense violations to identify careless or negligent drivers for departmental scrutiny.
How NOTS Hearings and Proceedings Work?
The NOTS system operates this way: Citations and other traffic offenses, known as “moving violations” are assigned a fixed number of points. As a driver commits various violations, these points will show up on his or her record.
Not every traffic citation places points on a driver’s record. For example, a minor mechanical violation, such as a burned out light-bulb, carries no points. However, more serious violations, such as speeding, a DUI, or hit-and-run, will carry one or more points.
When a driver accumulates points, the NOTS system triggers various letters of notice to the driver. The levels of notice are:
Level 1, a driver gets a warning letter in the mail if he or she accumulates 2 points in 12 months, 4 points in 24 months, or 6 points in 36 months.
Level 2, a driver gets a notice of intent to suspend if they get 3 points in 12 months, 5 points in 24 months, or 7 points in 36 months.
Level 3, the driver gets a Order of Probation/Suspension if he or she accumulates 4 points in 12 months, 6 points in 24 months, or 8 points in 36 months. The DMV considers these point levels to provide sufficient evidence that the driver is a negligent operator. The driver will receive a one year probation and a six month suspension, effective 34 days after the notification is mailed.
Level 4, the driver commits a traffic violation or is involved in a collision during the probationary period, probation will be extended an additional 6 months for each of the first and second violations; for a third, the license is revoked for a full year.
It is important if you have received any notices thst you contact the Law Office of Kevin S. Sullivan immediately as you are entitled to request a formal hearing before the DMV. This is extremely important as you only have 10 days from the date of the notice to request the hearing. In that hearing, you may dispute any inaccuracies in your record concerning the accumulation of points or being the cause of an accident and present any mitigating evidence relevant to your driving record in order to show why you should not be classified as a negligent operator.
The Law Office of Kevin S. Sullivan can help you to present a solid response to the DMV as to why Negligent Operator status should not be imposed. The Law Office of Kevin S. Sullivan handles cases in San Francisco, Marin, Contra Costa, Alameda, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Marin and Solano counties. Call our office today at 415-441-1052 immediately to discuss your issue.